Raffles Debate Academy U-14s

Yesterday, I competed in my first ever debate competition. It is the Raffles Debate Academy U-14s. I have no idea whether to brag or not, but I have won my first official debate! Achievement Unlocked! Anyways, I am not going to go for an in-depth analysis of yesterday, as I am not sure whether I should release any results, lineups or match-ups at this stage.

Besides, it’s now 4:02 am. Why am I up so late? This is because I was extremely drained after the competition. Being a smartass, I fell asleep at 7 pm and woke up at 2 am. I cannot sleep since. Now, I am doing a mix of playing Minecraft, writing out the absolute finals of my science report and of course, writing this blog post. Then again, I may choose to fall asleep very soon. It depends on my mental strength I guess.

Back to the debates today. Three motions have been debated today. They are:

  1. This house believes that developing nations should sacrifice environmental protection for economic growth
  2. This house believes that religious people make for better leaders
  3. This house will aggressively stream students according to their abilities from a young age

I debated in the first motion and was acting as a reserve member for the other two. For the first debate, our school was opposition and we won. For the second debate, our school was proposition and we lost. For the third debate, our school was opposition and we lost even though we had a moral high ground.

In addition, I would like to express my heartfelt gratitude to my captain for taking time off his super busy schedule to come and watch us. His valuable tips were so great they were even applicable in life and I am extremely happy to have such a perfect captain to guide me through my first competition. Thank you, awesome Ed.

 

 

I need to get some sleep.

 

2 responses to “Raffles Debate Academy U-14s

  1. You were supposed to credit your captain for coaching you. How about a special clause dedicated to him. I will write it for you:

    In addition, I would like to express my heartfelt gratitude to my captain for taking time off his super busy schedule to come and watch us. His valuable tips were so great they were even applicable in life and I am extremely happy to have such a perfect captain to guide me through my first competition. Thank you, awesome Ed.

    • Hi Edmond, of course I will add that clause to my post. What a hypocrite. Want to turn my iPad off hmm? I actually didn’t know that people like you will find this blog so soon.

Leave a Reply

