Higher Chinese papers 1 and 3

Oh, please, don’t get me started on the Higher Chinese paper 1 and 3 this year. Chinese paper 1 is a two-hour long examination where you are supposed to compose two passages. One of them is an email (easy part) and the other, depends on the topic, which could either be a person, an event, or a situation (the hard part). And yes, it is recommended that you write at least 350 characters and above, and that is for something mediocre. I think by now my tone can already let you know that I am horrible at Chinese.

Paper 3 is the opposite of paper 1. Paper 3 is a listening comprehension, and it is ten questions long. You will listen to a plethora of texts played by a CD player, and answering questions after each text. Admittably, this component isn’t all that challenging. The only true challenge comes when, well, you struggle to keep awake on a lazy afternoon.

How did I do for them? Don’t ask, I’ll talk. Make sure that you don’t tell a few people: My chinese teacher, either one of my parents, and the person standing beside you. Of course you would spill the beans. I do not doubt that.

The chinese paper 1 was horrible and the cake is a lie. The situational writing was actually quite good, it was easier than class work, I actually might be able to pass that. But no, the topic-dependent composition must screw that up. I have absolutely no idea how it turned up to be such a horrible topic. There were three topics we were supposed to choose from, we only needed to write for one. They can be translated to: an entertaining misunderstanding, a selfless and kind class chairman (there is such thing as one?) and a Chinese New Year celebration. I have no idea what to write! After spending quite some time pondering, I decided that “an entertaining misunderstanding” would be easier to write. How wrong I was, the writing quickly devolved to disjointed, panicked, blabbering and grammatically incorrect sentences that basically told the story in the simplest and most layman way ever possible. Save me.

The listening comprehension was somewhat harder than our class practice, however, it was do-able, and unchallenging tests are not really fun anymore, so listening comprehension
was awesome. What I write here does not reflect the attitude I have towards the grades I will get and should not be taken as a true scale of how difficult my school’s exams are.

This is the twentieth post! Woot!

Leave a Reply

